Follow us on Facebook


← go back

Kids Desiring God Full Page Image

Dear Parents –
At Lakeview, we want to join you in your desire for your children to be saturated with the Word of God so that they treasure Jesus alone as the One who saves and satisfies the heart. The goal of the Children Desiring God curriculum is to fuel spiritual desire in children by exalting the greatness and worth of God and His glorious work through Jesus Christ. God is revealed as the hero of every story in the Bible.

The following summarizes the year’s study by grade:

1st Grade: ABC’s of God – (Right thinking about God is essential for the life of faith. Using the alphabet as a framework for teaching the attributes of God, this study explores the delight that God has in Himself as the source, means, and purpose of all things. Each lesson asks and answers three key questions, “Who is God?” “What is He like?” “How should I act toward God? as it presents the theology of God for children.)

2nd Grade: Faithful to All His Promises – (God’s promises are gifts to the believer. The challenge of the Christian life is not to simply know the promises of God, but to place unshakeable confidence in them. This study teaches children that God’s character is trustworthy; therefore, his promises are true and reliable.)

3rd Grade: In the Beginning… Jesus – (The Bible is one complete true story that progressively reveals God’s redemptive plan, which comes to complete fulfillment in the Person and work of Jesus Christ. It begins with a historical mystery – Jesus’ death on the cross – and asks the questions: “What really happened here?”, “Why did Jesus die?”, and “Who did it?” To find the answers to these questions, the study goes to the beginning of the Bible narrative in Genesis and then moves chronologically through the Old Testament text as students search for clues that foreshadow the coming of Jesus and His redemptive work on the cross. Special emphasis is given to showing that the Bible is God’s story from beginning to end and that Jesus is the key to understanding the story.)

4th Grade: To Be Like Jesus – (What is salvation? How do you become a Christian? What does it mean to become like Jesus? This curriculum helps answer these important questions by explaining elements of the Gospel message, its purpose, and promise. A major theme is the doctrine of sanctification – the process by which a Christian becomes more and more conformed to the likeness of Jesus.)

5th Grade: How Majestic Is Your Name – (The names of God are wonderful revelations of His majestic character. This study presents the Hebrew names of God in the Old Testament and the names of Christ and the Holy Spirit in the New Testament. Each lesson encourages children to see and rejoice in the goodness and greatness of God as they explore the meaning of His glorious names.)

*6th Grade: My Purpose Will Stand – (God is not an idle God. He is continually involved with all created things, directing them to accomplish His eternal purposes. This study teaches children to recognize God’s providence in their lives and to joyfully trust His good purposes for them. Each lesson reveals that God is the sovereign ruler of the universe whose eye is watching over all things, and whose hand is working in all things.) * 5th and 6th grade boys alternate “How Majestic Is Your Name” with “My Purpose Will Stand.”
(Children Desiring God Website is

Please note that our scripture memory program is separate from the curriculum. Thank you for allowing us the privilege of assisting you to teach those little ones to love God with all their heart, mind, and soul. Your children’s teachers and I are happy to answer any questions you may have.

May God bless you,
Patty Chance
Director of Children’s Ministries